New Beginnings

To say that I have been remiss in my blogging is an understatement. I think the last month of school is a bit like a snowball. Between the grading, meetings, wrap up, and the omnipresent workplace drama, that last month of school goes by like a blur. Then winter break hits. And I had intended to post. But you know what they say about good intentions. Yup. So here we are at the end of January.

One struggle I’ve always had with blogging is focus. I wanted to write more about what these early years in academia have been like, transitioning from a doc student to an assistant professor, and figuring out the ropes. Instead I find myself posting more about my hobbies and random things about life outside of academia (and KZ). I always feel a bit conflicted between the disparate things that I want to write about vs. post about.

I noticed that a # of my friends and other bloggers have created separate but integrated spaces to write about different things. A great example are the folks at Eating Asia. They have a great blog about a slew of things related to traveling and work in Asia. But they’re actually situated in Turkey so they started a Tumblr of life in Turkey.

As I was thinking about this, the folks at WordPress’ Daily Post actually wrote about this very topic.

So here’s to first stab at trying to create spaces for random posts that describe moments, observations, 1/2 thought out ideas, etc. And here’s to a new year. Happy belated blogging best wishes in 2014 everyone. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 9.39.02 PM

Leave a Reply

