Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

p4

I thought a lot about this week’s challenge and I felt like these pictures captured two of my favorite colors, sage and purple AND my favorite plant (lavender).  Purple because it’s so vibrant and sage because it’s really therapeutic and calming. (The sage is a little harder to see, but lavender bushes often have silver-sage colored leaves.)

This past summer, I had a chance to visit my brother on O’ahu and then hopped over to Maui for a few days to visit an old friend. We spent Saturday afternoon basically going from one food locale to another. The last time I was in Maui, the Ali’i Kula Lavender Farms (of Modern Family fame) was shorn bare (they were dormant). This time, mid-July, they were at least hip high. Although a little disappointing (the photos on the website make it seem like there are hectares of lavender), my friend and I still enjoyed walking around, smelling different types of lavender, and enjoying some lavender-infused tea, lemonade, and scones at the gift shop (and making out with lavender to make lemon-lavender sugar cookies – yum).  It was a few dollars for entry but it was a nice way to spend a few hours, taking pictures, relaxing, and soaking in the fragrant aroma of lavender all around. Thanks to the ladies that allowed me to take a picture of them and their purple umbrella! 🙂 

p2 p5 p1

Leave a Reply

