Simpler Days

IMG_3061

It’s been a busy few weeks – got back to Almaty, had a slew of meetings, and then hit the ground running with the first week of classes. And all over the international news is whether the US Senate and House will vote “Yes” or “No” on military intervention in Syria. I swear, I am trying to get back into the groove of blogging more regularly, but now I feel super behind. Eeks.

I took this picture at the Ali’i Kula lavender farm this summer during a quick stop over on Maui. While the farm itself was smaller than what I had imagined (and what Modern Family had made it out to be – thanks Mitch!), it was nice to walk in and around so many different types of lavender bushes.

Amidst the craziness of life and world politics, sometimes I wish I could go back to the carefree days of childhood, when every day seemed to hold some new adventure. And it makes me sad for these children in Syria, in refugee camps, on the run, that are having their childhoods ripped away from them because they are faceless casualties in the “great games” being played out by world “leaders.”

Leave a Reply

