Happy Easter!

peter and john

Peter and John Running to the Tomb, Eugène Burnand (Musee d’Orsay)

I remember when I saw this picture at the Musee d’Orsay back in 2006, I stood in front of it for some time. I felt like Burnand did a masterful job at capturing what I would imagine John and Peter (the two disciples that booked it to the tomb when told that Jesus’ body was nowhere to be found) were feeling. Fear, hope, confusion, weariness, uncertainty. There is something so compelling about this picture that I took a picture of the picture so I could learn more about it later. And on this Easter Sunday, I just wanted to share it. In life, there are a lot of moments and sometimes seasons of fear, hope, confusion, uncertainty and weariness. But as David wrote, amidst all that, “weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.” (Psalm 30:5)

easter

Light streaming into St. Peter’s Basilica (December, 2006)

siena

Light shining through the stained glass windows of the Duomo di Sienna (Sienna, March 2013)

san michele

Light streaming into the hall of stained glass in St. Michele (Paris, December 2006)

Leave a Reply

