The Best of the Best: A Round Up of the “Best Fiction Books of 2012”

After reading an article at Open Culture providing links to a number of “Best Books of 2012” lists, it got me thinking. Are there overlaps between the lists? Who makes these lists? Do the lists reflect anything more meaningful? Is there any consistency or agreement among these lists? As I thought about what I wanted to read on the 62 hours in various airplanes this winter break, I decided to apply my academic skills to figure out what I am going to read. I looked at:

After skimming through, I applied some of my graduate school, Excel chart-making skills to compile a list of the 254 fiction books that were recommended. And then looked for patterns. Why? All to figure out what my winter break reads were going to be.

Based on the 12 lists that I compared, the top 19 fiction books (with at least 3 or more votes) are:

The next entry on this topic will provide the top non-fiction books. The third entry will look at comparing how similar The New York Times and The Washington Post lists are (or are not).  And whatever other combination I can think of while I wait to get picked up for the airport. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Best of the Best: A Round Up of the “Best Fiction Books of 2012”

  1. Pingback: The Best of the Best: A Round Up of the “Best Non-Fiction Books of 2012″ « Newbie Academic in a 'Stan

Leave a Reply

