An Homage to the Hobbit

Back in 2007, I had to go to a conference on New Zealand’s north island. As a day trip, I headed out to the sheep farm where the Lord of the Rings was filmed (or rather, where the Shire part was filmed). During the tour, I was actually singled out (I was the shortest person in the group) as a potential hobbit. I don’t know if that was good or bad but it was… interesting. 🙂

Anyway, for some reason, there was an article in the NYT today featuring the sheep farm in the run up to the first installment of “The Hobbit” coming to a theatre near you this December. If you want to see a short video, here you go.

I figured I’d jump on the bandwagon and share a few pics I took back then. Enjoy!

A hobbit hole with a view

The party tree
No joke – there were people that started hugging and dancing around the party tree. People are hardcore.

Leave a Reply

